VISA EXEMPTION

Myanmar will extend preliminary schemes of visa exemption and visa on arrival another one year for the visitors from Japan, South Korea, China and India to attract more tourists into the country, according to the announcement of Ministry of Hotels and Tourism.

Visa exemption was preliminarily allowed for the visitors from Japan, South Korea, Hong Kong and Macao Special Administrative Region of China from 1st October 2018 to 30th September 2019 and Chinese citizens who enter Myanmar through airports enjoyed visa on arrival for the period. The scheme will be extended from 1st October 2019 to 30th September 2020.

Meanwhile, Indian citizens who took flights to Myanmar were permitted for visa on arrival (tourists) for one year from 1st December 2018. The period will also be extended from 1st December 2019 to 30th November 2020. The Ministry of Hotels and Tourism also informed that these visas application processes may follow the procedures of Ministry of Labour, Immigration and Population.